2017 EDS Malaysia Chapter Postgraduate Awards


During the RSM2017 Conference Dinner on 23rd August 2017, the 2nd IEEE EDS Malaysia Postgraduate Awards were given away to shortlisted IEEE EDS student members who are pursuing their MSc and Phd research in Malaysia. The winners were Mohamad Faris bin Mohamad Fathil from UNIMAP with his PhD project “Electrical Label-Free Sensing of Cardiac Troponin Biomarker: ZnO-NPs FET based Integration with Substrate-gate Coupling”( MEMS & Nanoelectronics cluster), Fairus Atida Said from UKM with her PhD project “SPR-based Sensor for Urea Detection on Nanolaminated Gold Film Using Kretschmann Configuration” (Nanophotonics Cluster)and Kang Chun Hong from UTP with his PhD project “Development of Carbon Nanotube-Graphene Composite as Transparent Conductive Electrode for GaN-based LED” (Material, Process & Product cluster). Each winner received an honorarium of RM100, certificate and a plaque. During the conference dinner, EDS Malaysia Advisor, Prof Dato Dr Burhanuddin Yeop Majlis also launched his memoir cum autobiography entitled “Merintis Jalan ke dunia NANO” (Pioneering the way to the NANO world).